WBC 2.19 – Patience and Learning

As many of you know, I officially began my new job with Centurylink (formerly Savvis Communications). It is something that kind of releases me of the craziness of retail, but also supplies a much more stable schedule for my family and I. It’s a great opportunity, and I’m extremely grateful for it, but it does come with its fair share of anxieties.

It’s a tough thing leaving a place you were extremely comfortable at, and then basically starting from the bottom again. What I mean is that I worked my way to a management position at JCPenney. I knew the ins and outs of day-to-day processes there, and I came to work with very little, if any, nervousness or questions. Now, granted things always came up that you didn’t know, but because I was secure in my abilities, I really didn’t worry about them at all.

Working at Centurylink is a whole new monster. I come in starting as a tier-1 service analyst, and I am taking on an onslaught of information that comes off not only overwhelming, but intimidating too. The first thing I’ve been told here is that you just have to try not to get overwhelmed, because it’s all repetition. It’s hard to accept that point of view when I’m so used to picking things up so quickly. I fault myself a bit for not having a strong IT background, but it’s basic stuff for the most part, but still extremely new to me.

Now, I’m only a week in, and I’ve really just been observing, but I can’t get the little thought out of my head saying “you’re going to fail.” Do I believe things will come together and click soon, yes hopefully, but the uncertainty definitely brings that doubt. A lot of the guys I have shadowed or worked with have been extremely helpful and willing to show me the ropes. They even tell me that I won’t feel totally comfortable until at least six months in. I take that as reassuring but also scary as all hell.

I have seen a lot of people leave JCPenney for what they thought was better, only to come back and ask for a job back. I don’t think that is going to be the case with me, but there is still that fear that you instill in yourself that if you can’t cut it, then what? It’s pretty darn nerve racking.

I did gain a bit of hope and confidence on Friday before I left when the supervisor I am training with told my actual supervisor that I’m going to be good and I’m very attentive and picking things up well. That was extremely helpful for me, and it didn’t make me feel like I’m just showing up. I really am trying to learn, and the processes are feeling a little more comfortable, but there are still aspects where I just look and say “how the heck do you know that.”

I will spend a few more weeks on the monday-friday shift which is nice, and then I’ll move to the weekend shifts which is a lot less crazy. I guess it’s good to get trained by a shift that deals with heavy workloads, and then go in to a lighter schedule and feel far more better about it. We shall see, and outside of the anxiety and fear, I am really enjoying where I am. For now it’s a weekend off with my family, and preparing to enjoy mother’s day at my parents house. Until then I’m just waiting for some laundry to finish up today.

One Reply to “WBC 2.19 – Patience and Learning”

  1. It’s the same with any job, really. Unless you are hired for upper management, any good boss understands there is at least a 6 month learning curve. And since you’re not a complete idiot, I have faith.

    Like

Leave a Reply

