WBC 2.44 – Sometimes I Don’t Know What To Write About

It’s really interesting to me how hard it is to sit down and try and write a blog out of the blue. You would think that it would be pretty simple to just write about whatever, but there is a bit of pride in having some kind of substance to the things I write about. I think my cohort Tippin does a far better job of writing some pretty awesome posts, even when he’s just meeting the deadline. The dude is a great writer and his thoughts on things are extremely interesting, I think you’d be doing yourself a favor and subscribing to his blog. I’m not just saying that from a best friend plug, but because I genuinely enjoy when he writes.

Back to what I was saying though, it’s incredible that once you have gotten in a bit of a habit to write, the ability to just “write to fill a blog” isn’t so easy anymore. This may be different if this was private, and I was the only one reading it, but when it goes out to the world, I tend to try and have a little more emphasis on not wasting your time, than I would my own time.

As I write this, it’s just about 2am, and I’m on the verge of giving in to going to bed, and saying what else can I do while I’m up. Unfortunately everyone else in the house is passed out, including the two dogs who so graciously began wrestling as loud as possible in the kitchen. I think the battle is over though and they have thrown in the towel to sleep.

This morning I met up with Shane and we recorded a shortened version of our show. It wasn’t quite a mini episode, as those tend to run about 10-15 minutes, but I had a time line and had to be at work, so we didn’t get to shoot for a full hour. It was still fun, and despite the anxiety I get before every episode about interviewing guests, it still turned out ok and was fun too. We’re definitely looking to integrate a video aspect in to the show. There is so many ideas on how to grow the show on the Internet, but it’s finding time to get things moving. I love doing the show, but since I am only off 3 days a week, it’s hard to justify spending more time working on a podcast than hanging with my family. This is even more true now that my wife is going back to work part time. Believe me, I want to find a way to do this podcast for a living, but I also know the importance of balancing family life too. Luckily, Shane completely understands and I think he is the driving force sometimes with the podcast and it makes me realize that as much motivation I have to do this podcast, I have my moments where I get lazy, he keeps it going and keeps me motivated and excited.

Is everyone ready for Halloween coming up? I have to work, but Jen will be taking Ricky out and it should be the greatest day of his young life so far. Free candy, heck yeah he’ll take it. She took him to “Boo at the Zoo” tonight with her dad and Sam and I think he probably had a great time. He was dressed as a spider, but I think he will be dressed as Woody from Toy Story on Halloween. Don’t quote me on that, but that may be the gameplay.

I was calculating my PTO to use before the end of the year, and I can’t emphasize enough how great it is knowing I will not be working a black friday. I heard this week that Macy’s is opening at 6pm on Thanksgiving. That to me, is just crazy, and I know my friends at JCPenney will probably be following suit with opening on Thanksgiving. I know it’s kind of part of the gig, but I do wonder if there will ever be a line drawn. My wife, who just got back on with Clinique in Dillards will not have to work until 8am on black friday at the very earliest. This is excellent news because she used to work for Macy’s and remembers the pain of black fridays. I’m trying to figure out what days I want to take off before the end of the year as it appears I’ll have about 32 hours to burn. What’s so nice bout my job now is that I don’t feel guilty about taking time off or even if I have to call off. I try and keep that few and far between, but my manager up front said that if there is ever a time where I can’t make it in or just don’t feel like working, to let her know because it’s on her to find a replacement. Now, obviously my work ethic does not want to put my colleagues in a short handed situation, but knowing I may have to call off for my son being sick or whatever, is a relief that I don’t have to worry bout calling in.

Alright, this blog is long, but jumps all over the place, so I think I’m going to give in to the temptation of sleep. One of my favorite things about my days off are getting up, drinking a cup of coffee, and knowing I have the whole day off. If I get to bed now, I think I can maybe get up early enough to go running for a few minutes. I have the joining a gym thing itching in the back of my head, especially since my work does a reimbursement program for a gym, but we’ll see. I hope everyone has had a great week and is ready for Halloween. Leave in the comments below your costume ideas!

Leave a Reply

