WBC 2.49 – Concerts and Pipe Bombs

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving holiday. It was the first one in quite a few years that I got to thoroughly enjoy without the thought of having to go work retail as part of it. I got to hang with my family, Jen’s family and even took our son to see the Fresh Beat Band live at the Peabody Opera House in St. Louis. It was an interesting site seeing military vehicles down in the city, but I don’t want to get in to that whole topic, because the way our society has handled it on both sides has just been annoying and embarrassing as all heck.

We now enter the full-on Christmas season, and I have been listening to Christmas music in my car to and from work a lot. I don’t know if it’s because I’m no longer in retail that I can enjoy it, but I haven’t grown tired of them yet. I feel like every family should listen through Bing Crosby’s White Christmas album at least 14 times a year.

On Wednesday myself, and possibly Jen, will be heading to Columbia to meet up with my best bud Tippin to see the band that brought us together as best friend life partners, Story of the Year. The bonus to that, is I also get to see Greek Fire which is growing to be one of my new favorite bands, and I’m sure it’s no coincidence it is because two of the members of Story of the Year are in the band. I’m looking forward to it, and hoping Jen can go so we can make a little day of it. I’m stoked to see Tippin too, and it still blows my mind how being neighbors in college can create such great friendships. Granted, I think it’s like one of those things too that there were certain alignments with the stars that made that happen, because I easily could have decided to go to Yale or Harvard. So that concert is shaping up to be a ton of fun.

On a side note, have any of you listened to the CM Punk episode of Colt Cabana’s The Art of Wrestling? Holy cow what an eye opener it was to hear what all he had to deal with in WWE. I’ve always had an interest in the “behind the curtain” details of wrestling, but to hear him go in to great detail and length about his whole departure from the WWE was really interesting. The biggest bummer though is that he will most likely never step foot in a WWE ring again, and he was by far my favorite wrestler. Though the video below is a work, he does bring a lot of truth to what he says, and it’s the promo, known as the “pipe bomb” that really put his name on the map. Definitely a great promo if you’re a wrestling fan and you get to hear some of his anger with the company.

Well I better go see if the kids are awake, but I hope everyone has a great week, and I’ll try and take some pictures while in CoMo to post here. Only a few weeks away from the 2-year milestone, HOLY JUMPIN!

 

Leave a Reply

