Day 6 – Finally Getting My Car Fixed (For Free)

If you have a Chevrolet that is at least a few years old, maybe even newer, you probably have been aware of the onslaught of recalls or repairs that have been sent out to Chevy owners. I myself own a 2006 Chevy HHR which I love, but was part of those batch of cars that need repairs.

I don’t remember what the first recall was, but it was, maybe something to do with the ignition or airbag, I don’t have the slightest clue. I received the notice, but just didn’t get up there to have it repaired. I don’t know why when it’s free, I am just super lazy. Anyway, about 6 or so years ago, I did have an issue with my car where I could not get the key out of the ignition. Anytime I wanted to turn my car off, I had to reach my finger and press an emergency key release button under the steering wheel. I have become accustomed to this method, but every time I take my car for an oil change or any other type of service, I always have to give them the explanation of how to get the key out.

Living with this little malfunction has been tolerable, but it is still an inconvenience. I feel this issue has led to other issues that may be happening with my car, but the odds of the dealership even acknowledging them is zero to none.

So here I am, late December in 2014 and I receive this beautiful little letter in the mail that says they finally acknowledge there is something janky going on with the key, and they would repair it for free. I knew if I held out long enough, then they would budge, but I’m surprised it took almost 6 or 7 years for them to finally action this. Regardless, I’m pretty excited to get this taken care of. I made an appointment for Thursday morning, and I may even look in to seeing how much it will cost to get my lock button on my key fixed. I actually have the automatic start on the key, but the key hasn’t worked in some time. I figured with it getting cold, and having two little kids, it wouldn’t be a bad idea to have that feature to warm the car. If it’s majorly expensive, then I’ll pass on it and suck it up to warm up my car, but if it’s within reason I may get that fixed too.

Though my car probably still has at least 486 problems, having the ability to remove the key without issue is going to be nice. It also adds to the fact that my car cannot be put in to drive with such ease. With the key issue I can move the shifter anywhere I want it with little trouble.

Leave a Reply

