Day 43 – TellTale’s Game of Thrones Episode 1

So I know I’m late to the party when it comes to the TellTale games featuring Borderlands, Dawn of the Dead and most recently, Game of Thrones. I have heard about the games, and how much people enjoyed them, but I really couldn’t pull the trigger on trying it out. When I would watch a review of one of the games, it seemed very boring, like you simply point and click. After playing through episode 1 of the Game of Thrones series, I was way wrong, and the experience was incredible for a cheap price.

Game of thrones

So I guess the best way to explain the TellTale games are that they are like a choose your own adventure movie. You are pitted in a variety of situations that you must choose how your character will react. Each decision will effectively determine how the story progresses. What’s nice about the Game of Thrones games, is that you are thrown in to a world you are already familiar with if you are a fan of the show/books. You will come across characters you recognize, and interact with them to further the story along. What’s nice is that you’re not just rehashing a story from the show, it’s a new set of characters that you actually do kind of get attached to.

Tyrien Lannister

I was playing late last night, and there is a certain part in the story I was a part of where I had to choose how to negotiate with Ramsay. I won’t give it away, but when the episode was over I was just like whoa, what the hell. And I mean that in the most complimentary way. It was then I realized that what I had been playing, was unlike any game I had before, and despite it’s simplicity, the ability to really be in control of how the story progresses and knowing that playing through it one way, could have a completely different result from playing another.

Another amazing aspect of this game, is that the episode is only like $5 or $6 and if you want to download all of the episodes once they are released, then you simply drop the $20. It was an amazing experience, and it tempts me to maybe want to try out the Walking Dead series too. I was browsing the app store on my iPhone and also saw a Jurassic Park one, but I don’t believe that is on the Xbox One yet. If you get a chance, sit down and play through one of the games, you don’t have to know the story or watch the show to enjoy the game. It is a great experience and I can’t wait to dive in to episode 2!

Leave a Reply

