Day 83 – Hooters and Podcasting

So today has been a pretty good day despite the cold wet weather. Jen was off so I got to spend time with the whole little family. I did have an episode of the Rock Paper Podcast to record around 3:30pm and it was a good one. Shane had been fighting something so it ended up me flying solo with our guest which was a first for me, and something I won’t lie, I was a little nervous about. Many times, when we interview somebody, Shane has some pretty good knowledge of at least who they are and has seen some shows, this time I was going in kind of blind, but the interview still turned out great, and it was a fun one. I even got a chance to talk a little Blues hockey.

After that, we were supposed to meet up with Jen’s brother and his girlfriend, but she ended up not feeling well so we hit up a quick trip to Sam’s Club and then headed to Hooters for some dinner. I hadn’t been to Hooters for a long while, but it was just as good as I remembered it. The service was a little iffy, but my conclusion is that you don’t quite get the service if you’re married with two kids as say you may get if you’re with a group of guys. The girls their know their job and they probably make some pretty solid tips off of the flirting role. I also totally get that some girls would be probably offset if our waitress attempted to flirt. Jen probably would have laughed, but it was just funny to see us receive far less attention than say some of the other tables.

As Jen and I have quickly discovered, we almost have a time limit of when we can take the kids out. If it’s after 5pm and the kids have not napped, then you’re playing with fire. Ricky gets to a point where he doesn’t really want to listen and he can throw some gnarly fits. Luckily tonight was minimal, but it was still not without it’s stressful moments where we kind of regret going out. It does make you appreciate those times out when you get to just enjoy each other’s company and not have to worry about kids. Those times seem to be few and far between, but when they come up, I do really appreciate them, and I think Jen does too.

So that’s about it, I am going to post this with about 4 minutes to spare until midnight, so despite what the post log may say, this is done ON TIME haha.

Leave a Reply

