Day 146 – Extended Lunch Break

My goal today was to get something done around the house, it didn’t have to be major, but I wanted to not feel like I wasted the day. Some may say that when you have kids, you’re not really wasting the day when you’re with them, which I agree, but I also don’t feel like the kids should be an excuse to not get anything done. My goal was the basement, and though I actually will probably finish the task after I write this, I did at least get a little bit picked up.

I actually moved the mini fridge we have in our basement next to my computer desk. I’m really working to get a mini office set up, hoping that will make it feel like an environment where I can get stuff done. I still think the ability to make videos or even create a new podcast down the road will continue to have to be done at night once the kids fall asleep, but ultimately that’s ok. My big thing will be finding the energy to keep going after the day is over. Just before I came down to write this blog, I almost feel asleep as the kids were getting put to bed.

After a bit of work in the basement, I paused to have some lunch for the kids. This ultimately turned in to lunch and then the kids falling asleep on me. For some reason, Amelia can crash for like hours if she’s laying up against me, compared to in her bed. I’m not sure why, but it’s definitely a plus if she falls asleep before I have to go to work and I can also get a nap in. The last two days Ricky has gone down for a nap at the same time. I actually had one laying up against me on both sides, so I was pretty much landlocked on the couch. I did take this opportunity of down time to put some solid progress in to playing The Last of Us Remastered. The game continues to be amazing, and I feel like nearing the end of it. That’s pretty big for me as I honestly can’t remember the last game I completed. It may have been a Call of Duty game, but I’m thinking it was the original Black Ops (maybe).

So the rest of the night here is going to be spent working on ideas, and maybe creating some new YouTube tutorial videos on my Macbook Air. A lot of the income I have made comes from those types of videos, so it’s probably not a bad place to start. I hope everyone had a great Memorial Day weekend, and I’m stoked to say my sister-in-law Kathy, completed her last round of treatment for breast cancer today. The woman is crazy strong, and I admire the hell out of her and my family who encouraged her continuously the whole way. Way to go Kathy! #KBStrong

Leave a Reply

