Day 207 – Must Watch Shows (My Top 5)

I don’t watch a ton of television, and have an even harder time investing in to an entire series. Most of what I watch on a regular basis is some form of sporting event, whether it be a St. Louis Blues game or WWE Raw, it’s normally not a series. After a brief conversation with my best bud Tippin about television series, I got to thinking about what my top television shows of all-time are. These shows are not necessarily in order, and as I type this out, I may think of others (see honorable mentions) but the shows below are ones you can invest your time in and really feel like you have been rewarded for it. I haven’t gone in to a ton of detail about the shows synopsis as you can click on the title links to check out their IMDB pages to see what the show premise is about.

Parenthood

Parenthood

Holy cow did this show catch me off guard, and I didn’t even pick up on it until the last few seasons. It is a series that follows the Braverman family and the trials and tribulations they have to endure. By the end of this series you either completely relate the characters to your own family, or you feel yourself that you are also a Braverman. I honestly don’t feel like there was a character in this series that I did not feel invested in. I have not felt as emotionally attached to a a group of characters than I did with the Braverman family. It’s a series that I am absolutely going to go back and watch from the beginning.

Boy Meets World

Boy Meets World

I grew up in the 90s which was a prime time for family sitcoms. ABC had almost an entire evening block on Friday nights dedicated to the genre which they called TGIF. If you grew up during this time then shows like Full House, Family Matters, and Step by Step probably ring a bell. Those shows were all pretty good, but the show that stood out the most to me, and still holds up to this day was Boy Meets World. The show followed essentially the coming of age of Cory Matthews as he went through middle school, high school and then college. I don’t know if the creators planned the show to go as long as it did, but it was amazing to see the show shift from just a silly show about a kid making it through puberty, to a show that actually tackled some somewhat serious issues, while still maintain it’s punch lines and a growing case of lovable characters.

Throughout the series you see the kids shift in personalities.Topanga goes from a weird hippie like girl to a popular “heart throb” and even Eric Matthews (Cory’s older brother) goes from hearth throb popular kid to an air head who provided much of the comic relief. The ultimate thing that pulled this one for me was the bond of friends, family and even the kids to their teacher Mr. Feeny. The show was probably one of the last remaining sitcoms from that era, and is one I have gone back and watched from the beginning and still feel my heart tug at the end. It was a show that is actually funnier when I watch it now, and one that balanced well the emotional challenges of growing up to the funny situations that keep you laughing.

Scrubs

Scrubs

I don’t know if I chose the show Scrubs because I was just talking about it, or if I feel like it is actually deserving, but this comes a bit from experience but also recommendation from my buddy Tippin. I haven’t even seen this whole series or much of it in order. Most of my experience with the show comes from reruns that aired daily on Comedy Central, but I honestly don’t really remember if I saw the final episode. This show always seemed really funny, but also had something that now reminds me of Parenthood and that is the perfect choice of music for certain situations. I didn’t pick up on this type of thing until having a discussion with it with Tippin on a shortly lived podcast thing we did, but he was exactly right. Scrubs does just as good a job of delivering an entertaining television show as it does to providing a pretty great soundtrack to fit exactly what the show is. This is one I am going to go back and start from the beginning, especially since it is on Netflix now. I think that’s saying something if I haven’t even seen the majority of the series, but still hold it in high regards.

Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones

Holy cow, this one is probably the most obvious, but it’s considered one of the best shows on television for a reason. If you read a synopsis of this show, you would probably think like I did, how am I going to keep up with all of these characters, but Game of Thrones makes it work. My absolutely favorite thing about Game of Thrones is the mentality that no character is safe. Characters you think are the stars of the show, sometimes don’t last through the season, and those you may think are just supporting roles, end up playing a pretty huge role. This show also follows an ongoing book series, which I have not read, but it’s a show that always seems to keep you on your feet, and will deliver an unexpected death or twist when you least expect it. If you have been able to avoid spoilers this far in, then it’s a great time to dive in. It is in-between seasons, and the next season won’t start until April so that gives you plenty of time to catch up on everything. I guarantee you, it is one of the best shows on television for a reason.

The Newsroom

The Newsroom

This show only aired for 3 seasons, but they really did a great job with each one. What’s nice about the Newsroom is that it tackles real events, but with the benefit of hindsight. It follows a news team, and I really think the whole cast kills it on this show, especially Jeff Daniels who plays a pretty strong willed anchor. It was an awesome surprise to his character develop. This one may be more of a liking because I went to school for broadcasting and really appreciate watching some of the behind the scenes things regarding the news world. It’s a show that I think was too short, but I really enjoyed every aspect of the show, and the cast really meshes well. I think the character of Jim Harper was one of my favorites.

Honorable Mentions
– Californication
– Band of Brothers (Mini Series)
– Entourage

Leave a Reply

