Day 213 – Holy Ronda Rousey Batman!

I’m not a huge MMA fan. I casually will try and catch a stream if there is a big fighter involved say Brock Lesnar or when the time comes CM Punk, or like tonight with Ronda Rousey.

I don’t want to come off as sexist or whatever, but many times I have a hard time getting in to women’s sports. The two exceptions seem to be soccer (Fifa World Cup) and now MMA. I knew Ronda Rousey was a beast, but to see her come out and just destroy her opponent was really impressive. She has such charisma and is probably a marketing persons dream because she will make a butt load more money via endorsements and such than she probably already is.

She is easily probably the most dominant/popular/impressive female athlete I’ve seen outside of maybe one of the Williams sisters, but they’re not punching people. I definitely became a fan tonight, but just can’t believe how she’s running wild in the UFC just destroying chicks. She’s extremely fun to watch. The fights are drawn out grappling or wrestling fights. She’s like Mike Tyson in the sense of people expect her to finish her opponents quickly. She even said she was going to draw this one out, but I think with how the fight went down, she had to throw some heavy punches.

There was also something really cool about seeing a women’s bout set as the main event. I know Ronda Rousey is a whole different beast, but I really appreciate the fact that they are acknowledging how skilled she is, and not making her out to be a good fighter “for a girl’. She’s a great fighter in the UFC.

I’m pretty stoked for her next fight, which who knows when it will be, but she’s fun to watch. If I’m not working, I’d like to take Jen out to dinner to a place and watch it. I’m sure it was a blast watching it with other people. I also can’t wait for CM Punk’s debut fight, though I’m not expecting as much domination out of that one as much as just see how he does.

I know this is all common knowledge to folks who are bigger fans of MMA and UFC than I am, but I really enjoyed seeing her perform and just own that chick.

Leave a Reply

