Day 242 – Is That A Garage Under There?

It never seems to fail that any day I have to work is a day I find the most motivation to take on a huge project. Today’s case was no different. It made me really wish I could stay home and continue it to the end, but after already taking two days off for Amelia’s party I knew I had to go.

For some reason, around 11:45 a.m. today I decided to start sweeping the garage. I thought, while I have a few minutes, I’ll just get the trash cleaned up. This soon turned in to moving toys out of the garage so they weren’t just stacked on things, and then before you know it, I’m up on the storage shelf going through plastic bins. Jen was out helping me and we had Amelia in a walker and Ricky was just hanging out playing with the toys that were in the garage like it was Christmas morning.

Unfortunately,  2:00 p.m. came around and I had to get ready for work. I would have loved to just keep going, because we were making such good progress. The good news in all of this is that I only work tonight and tomorrow and then I’m off for a few days.

Jen’s mom is staying with us until Friday, but after today I realized that I can have the kids out with me while I do things. I don’t mean that in the “I don’t need her” but I don’t like throwing that on people so I can do things. I know she’d be more than willing to help, but if the kids can hang with me then it just makes it just as good to get things done.

I have had this huge kick lately of doing a lot of DIY type things. This is very odd for me because I am in no way shape or form good with “my hands.” If I have to build something or construct anything I am pretty much useless. Maybe my idea is not so much like building things, as much as it is getting the room in good shape. Our garage is a pretty decent size, but it just seems so trashy because there is so much stuff in there. I’d love to get it cleaned out, things hung up, and just get it organized. We can totally do it, and today I was in no mode to keep unecessary things. If I hadn’t thought about it, then I probably trashed it. I took in to account sentimental value, but like blank CDs and stuff, I just tossed with no regret.

I work at 2 p.m. tomorrow so I don’t have much time to get things done. I would LOVE to get up really early and start working on the garage, but Amelia wakes up early and I don’t want to put the kids on Jen to have to get up and watch them. Maybe when Amelia wakes up I’ll get her some breakfast and take her out to the garage while it’s still cool out. Again, she’s in her little walker so she can kind of cruise around while I clean. We’ll see what happens, but I have to keep the momentum going.

Leave a Reply

