Day 248 – A Bit of a Win

Isn’t it funny how the work weeks that are actually shorter than normal, seem to feel like they take twice as long? That’s how this week is feeling, and I only work three days. Maybe it’s because I’m tired, or because the night has been slow. Regardless, I’m ready for tomorrow to be over with.

Amelia slept pretty much through the night again last night! She woke up about 7:15 a.m. but if that means not waking up at 3:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. every night, then shoot I’ll take it! Her and Ricky went over to my sister Casey’s house today while Jen and I worked. It’s a huge open house, with a great backyard to play in. From what Jen said, they seemed to have an awesome time.

Tomorrow our friend Sammi is going to watch the kids, and I know Ricky is excited for that too. As with any visitor to the house, I will need to pay special attention to getting things picked up a bit, so she doesn’t risk breaking her neck trying to maneuver around a barrage of toys on the ground. After tomorrow is done, then I get a four day weekends. It’s not the traditional labor day weekend, but I have never been one to really take in that holiday from an “off from work” type of way.

There are still a lot of things I want to get done around the house, but I feel like getting the garage picked up was a big win. I think the fact that I did not just settle for picking up trash and moving around boxes. I moved EVERYTHING away from the walls and sprayed the perimeter in hopes of eliminating any future spiders. We didn’t have a major issue in there, but there were quite a few spider webs and a couple instances where some spiders made surprise appearances. I’m not a fan of those, and while I’m thinking about it, I should probably spray as much as I can around the outside of the house too.

My next goal is getting the basement in to a little more entertainment oriented situation. I have a little entertainment center, if you can really call it that, which I would like to set up in the basement. It’s one I had up in college to set my television on, and it has some compartments for consoles or whatever. Getting that in the basement would free up a little more space in the garage. The big kahuna right now is this 65” box television that is out there now. It takes up so much space, and the only good thing about it is that it is on wheels so I can move it around to wherever.

So maybe I will get some more cleaning done on this extended weekend. I don’t remember what Jen works, but having her home will really help that process move along. I only have about three more weeks left working on the Tier 1 desk before I move to my new role on the Adaptive Desk. I still have no idea what my official schedule will be, but I’m sure that information will come up sooner rather than later.

I’m glad I wrote this blog while at work, and not when I get home. I always want to just go to bed when I get home. If I have to write the blog, then my motivation, and writing interest just plummets.

I hope you all have had a great weekend so far, and you stay safe if you plan on travelling.

Leave a Reply

