Day 301 – Halloween Festivities

Tonight has been an evening of Halloween festivities. For starters, Ricky had a trunk-or-treat at his school where he got to dress up and get a bit of candy in the parking lot. It was a little chaotic because it was kind of crowded, and Ricky didn’t fully understand that the more cars he went to then he more candy he got. He kind of just wanted to eat his candy when he got it. It went well overall, and we only were there for about an hour or so.

When we got home we decided to carve the pumpkins we had. With various school events and what not, we have accumulated a few pumpkins. We did not carve all of them, just two, but that was enough.

Jen and I were going to try and print out some stencils to carve on the pumpkins, but our printer is low on ink so we just hand drew them. We both went pretty generic with the triangle eyes and nose, and some teeth, but I’m pretty happy with how they turned out.

Now, the best part of all of this pumpkin carving will come tomorrow when we bake the seeds. I currently have my stove covered with pumpkin seeds on paper towels air drying. Once they dry, then we will put them in the oven for about 10 minutes. I used to just throw them in the oven after washing them off, but I learned that they will steam instead of bake. Thank you Youtube for your recommendation on how to cook my pumpkin seeds.

Now I’m going to try and clean up a bit. I feel like I’m going to be finding pieces of pumpkin mess for years to come. We will do the official Halloween stuff this weekend with trick-or-treating and I’m hoping, my buddy Darin’s party.

I hope you all had a great Wednesday. Hooray for tomorrow being payday. Let’s all pay the bills!

Leave a Reply

