Day 313 – Grabbing the Reins

Today is day two of my new hours. It had been fairly slow until about 3 p.m. We normally lose about three guys at 2:30 p.m. so the workload tends to pick up. Today feels more like my official days on the phones. I was on them yesterday but it was a Sunday, we got no calls and I watched five episode of Band of Brothers. Today though, has felt more like a normal day, which is good. I am pretty much taking all of the responsibilities I should be taking, but now I just have to learn the technical stuff of the job. That will take a while, but I’m hanging in there.

With the new hours my new shift goes until 4:30 p.m. instead of 4 p.m. Normally I could get off work at four and go meet Jen at home, but working later means I’ll just meet her at the mall before she has to work. Not a big deal because it is just down the road.

I’m hoping this blog kills at least the last twenty-three minutes of work I have left. I will say the day feels much longer coming in at 6 a.m. than it does at 8 a.m. The adjustment hasn’t been too terrible though. I definitely do not miss the traffic at 7 a.m. driving in.

I don’t have much planned this even after we get home with the kids. We will probably take it easy, and I will try to get them to settle down earlier than later since I have to be up early. We shall see how that method works.

I don’t have much else to report, and I’m really just excited to get off of work. I hope you all had a great Monday, and a great Tuesday as well. I work until Wednesday, and then I am off for three days. That will be pretty nice.

Leave a Reply

