Do you even blog bro?

I have not written a blog in a month. That is terrible and lazy, so here I am.

I don’t really want to go in to a recap of what I have done in the last month, because I feel like that would just be blabbering on. Today has been a pretty chilled day at work. Most Sundays are more relaxed than during the week, but we also have an extra person on shift now so it makes it even better.

I’m on lunch at work, and I’m hoping I can get a solid stream of the St. Louis Blues game at 2pm. If you are a St. Louis Blues fan, then you know how exciting it is to be in the second round. Defeating the Chicago Blackhawks almost felt like winning the Stanley Cup, which may be kind of sad but true.

There has been a bit of a transformation happening over the last few weeks in regards to our marriage. I don’t know if it’s because the kids are becoming a little more independent, or what it is. I just feel like Jen and I are able to spend more quality time together, and life seems a little less hectic.

She recently resigned from her job with Clinique to take a cleaning job at nights right here in town. Not only does this save gas, but we get to hangout during the day when I’m off. She may not be making as much money, and it’s more physical work doing the cleaning, but I think the amount of stress is far less than at Clinique. The only downfall are the days I do work, I only get to see her for about 45 minutes, and when she gets home after 10 (if I’m not already asleep). I think it has been a good change, and has also probably contributed to the increase in overall quality time.

Yesterday was an extremely productive day, as we attacked our garage. We planned on doing a garage sale, but after getting out there and digging in to things, we realized it was just better to start sorting. I won’t lie that 75% of the stuff in there is kids stuff, and probably the other 24.9% is kid stuff, leaving a minuscule amount of my stuff, but I was so proud of how Jen just started going through and making piles to sell or donate. She had no hesitation or anything, and so far has freed up like 4 totes to use for other things. The garage looks like a HUGE mess right now, but it is actually in better shape than before, and it won’t be long until we can probably get both cars in, and maybe even build a mini work bench out there. It was a productive couple of days overall.

Tonight I plan on getting the kids to bed at a reasonable time, and watching episode two of the latest Game of Thrones season. That show is amazing, and I like having Sunday to look forward to again. I also just watched Deadpool last night. Outside of just being a Batman nerd, it was probably my favorite superhero movie I have seen to date. I don’t think anybody else could have pulled off the character as well as Ryan Reynolds did. If you still haven’t seen it, I’d highly recommend doing so. It’s rated-R though so don’t show it at Thanksgiving at the kids table.

Alrighty, I need to get back to work so I can make my lunch (an amazing lasagna dinner Jen made last night). Today has felt like a good day, and I’m feeling pretty chipper. Have a great Sunday all, and I hope this stirs the pot to blog more.

One Reply to “Do you even blog bro?”

  1. Glad to hear you are rewarding yourself by writing and working through things!!! Your experiences remind me of the relief I felt after our kids reached an age where it was possible to have breathing moments and even fun together again.

    Happy as well that both of you have this opportunity to rebalance. Your article makes me wonder if You are entering into a brand new phase of your relationship, emerging from the baby years and into something new. Have you read anything on the stages of relationships and how they grow through different life events and changes?

    I have learned that It’s super important to purge the old stuff as well as the old feelings and prepare and work to make new ones. You are not the same person you were a few years ago. Recognize it and make room for the new you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

