Vol. 1, December 2016

The year is coming to an end, and I believe the consensus is that 2017 can’t be any worse than what 2016 has been. Of course, I don’t think anybody thought Trump would be president, so 2017 could be an utter shit-show as well.

I’m going to try and change the format of my blogs a bit. I’m taking the idea from how Kevin Rose constructs his newsletters. Instead of just filling up text with what my day or week has been like. I’m going to try and post more visuals and showcase a few different areas that have peaked my interest lately. One section may be dedicated to a movie or game.

Maybe another section goes to an organization tip I’m using. I think this will break the writer’s block I get when I try to write about just my life, which does not always have the most interesting elements. I’m not sure if I’ll post on a weekly basis, but at least once a month.

I hope you all had a great holiday!

Chris


Captain Philips: Tom Hanks can do no wrong

captain-phillips

I was bored in bed the other night, and I think Jen was still at work. The kids had fallen asleep so I started browsing the on demand movies. I came across the Tom Hank’s film Captain Phillips. A movie I knew a little bit of the backstory on (it’s based on a true story), but I never really took time to go out of my way to watch.

I’ve always been a big fan of Tom Hanks, but I wasn’t sure if this movie would hold my attention. I was even hesitant early on because of the accent Tom Hanks was using, but it was forgotten pretty quickly. The movie is about a cargo ship that is taken hostage by four Somalian pirates. I won’t spoil too much of the plot, and if you followed the story in the news, then you know how it ends, but the film was actually really good. I may be blinded by Tom Hank’s likability but for someone who doesn’t watch a lot of movies, I really enjoyed it.

I actually went back afterwards to see if it was far off from the actual details of the events, and was glad to see it was portrayed fairly accurately, though I’m sure a dose of Hollywood is sprinkled in.

Captain Phillips ($9.99 at Best Buy)


2016 Winter Classic: the dream of a St. Louis Blues fan

img_4067

My wife did a pretty excellent job with Christmas for me this year. St. Louis was chosen this year to host the 2016 Bridgestone Winter Classic. For those who do not know what that is, it is the outdoor hockey game that will be hosted at Busch Stadium. Every year a city is chosen, and St. Louis has been eager to get selected. The fact that the game will be against the Chicago Blackhawks is the cherry on top.

The only downside to the game is that tickets cost close to $300 (on the cheap side). As much as I’d like to dispose that kind of cash for the game, it would not be wise so I’ll stick to watching it at home. By the way, at no point did I realistically think I’d even have a shot at tickets even if I had the money.

Seeing Busch stadium transition in to a hockey stadium is pretty cool to see, and seeing that place sold out to watch a hockey game is pretty cool. I hope the Blues come out flying and beat Chicago, but it’ll be a great game to take in regardless.

https://www.nhl.com/blues/video/embed/2017-winter-classic-time-lapse/t-277437432/c-47487303?autostart=false

The game is January 2nd on NBC. There is still hopes for winning tickets to the game, so I’ll keep you updated if a miracle happens.


New Year’s Resolutions

It’s safe to say that I’m just as a guilty as any others when it comes to creating resolutions for the new year. I don’t know if I get more enjoyment in thinking about the ideas I want to accomplish next year, or if I really feel like I’m going to accomplish them. Regardless, I do it each year in hopes of maybe bettering myself just a little bit.

  1. Exercise 3x a week – doesn’t matter if it’s running/biking/weightlifting just do something!
  2. Give up the energy drinks
  3. Write more!!
  4. Produce more YouTube content
  5. Get the dogs socialized and take them on walks
  6. Continue to get the house cleaned up and organized
  7. Play through a few Xbox One Games (guilty of playing bits and never finishing stories)
  8. Read more books (this one has been an ongoing challenge for a few years
  9. Redesign my blog to look more professional
  10. Get out of my comfort zone and just try new things

I hope this blog picks up steam and I begin writing more. I have probably spent almost an hour writing this blog, and I have actually enjoyed it. Here is to 2017 and more blog writing. Have a happy new year and be good to each other.

Chris 

Leave a Reply

