RIP Chester, Colorado Trip and Free Summer Concerts

We’re rockin’ and rollin’ this Saturday morning as my dogs greeted me early with wanting to go outside. With that, I obliged their demands and then made a trip to the store to get some donuts for Jen and the kids. Coffee is in my cup, and I’m ready to take on this Saturday.

It’s the weekend before I head to Colorado for my best bud Tippin’s “bachelor party.” I’m not sure that’s really an accurate description, as we’re going to just be doing some amazing outdoor stuff. He has also nonchalantly threatened to push me off of a cliff. This should be an amazing trip. For real though, I’m incredibly excited.

On a sadder note, I was incredibly bummed to hear about the passing of Chester Bennington of Linkin Park. That band had some kind of influence I’m sure over a lot of my generations lives. They were one of the biggest bands during that era in music, and still are probably considered one of the biggest bands today. The Chris Cornell death didn’t really hit me too hard as I wasn’t a huge Soundgarden fan, nor did I follow them, but Linkin Park I’ve followed since high school, and I really appreciated how well Chester and Mike Shinoda’s(LP’s other singer) singing styles complimented each other. It definitely sucks, and the circumstances are even worse. There’s a very eerie feeling listening to their new record “One More Light”.

Speaking of music, I realized I had quite a few free ticket vouchers left over from the Ticketmaster class action lawsuit, and when I got on to see what shows qualified for it, I was pretty excited. Below are the shows I got 2 free general admission tickets to go to. Some I’m super excited for, and others I’m kind of interested to check out to see if I become a fan as the genres are a bit out of my wheelhouse.

August 16th
Foreigner w/ Cheap Trick and Jason Bonham’s Led Zeppelin Experience

September 10th
105.7 The Point Presents: WayBack Pointfest
Sublime with Rome, The Offspring, The Urge, Reel Big Fish and Goldfinger

September 24th
Brad Paisley: Weekend Warrior World Tour 2017

September 26th
Matchbox Twenty & Counting Crows: A Brief History of Everything Tour

I’m thoroughly excited for the Pointfest and the Counting Crows show. I had free tickets to Counting Crows last year, but wasn’t able to go for some reason. I definitely don’t want to miss it this time. Jen’s favorite band is Sublime, and though the singer passed away some time ago, we saw them with Rome, and he sounds so much like the original singer. It should be an awesome summer of music.

Finally, I took just a couple shots of my morning. Nothing spectacular, but I put a black and white filter on them so they’re art now or something. Have a great weekend all.

Photo Jul 22, 8 53 18 AM
Amelia very politely getting her chocolate donut fingers all over Je’s phone
Photo Jul 22, 8 54 11 AM
Charlie spends most of his time outside hunting, but every once in a while (especially with the heat) he makes an appearance inside. 

 

Leave a Reply

